Some States have attempted to protect certain classes of workers when they are infected with COVID-19 by passing new laws. Nevertheless, huge insurance companies still have found ways to deny the help injured workers desperately need. (more…)
Employers who are unsure about whether to require employees to receive the COVID-19 vaccine or not should take into consideration the role of state and local laws and the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC). (more…)
As numerous COVID-19 vaccines await FDA-approval, employers across the country are wondering what this means for their business. Should they require their employees to take the vaccine? (more…)
Senate Bill 1159 by Sen. Jerry Hill (D-San Mateo), which took effect immediately after it was signed into law on September 17 by Gov. Gavin Newsom, requires employers to retrospectively report positive employee COVID-19 tests that occurred between July 6 and September 17 by October 29. In addition, the law requires employers to report positive employee COVID-19 tests within three business days beginning on September 18 and going forward. (more…)
California workers’ compensation COVID-19 claims continue to rise, with the state recording 5,130 COVID-19 claims with August injury dates. According to the California Workers’ Compensation Institute (CWCI), this brings the total for the year to 41,861 claims, or 11.2% of all California job injury claims reported an accident in 2020. Death claims rose to 224, up from 160 reported as of August 10th. (more…)
For 16 years, Sonja Flowers worked as a server at a restaurant at a Disney resort. She’s been out of work since March 15th and believes she will soon be out of a job. For Flowers, 62, this may mean delaying her goal of retiring in five years.
José Guzman, a 61-year-old from San Bernardino who commuted 60 miles to a Farmer John meat packing plant in Vernon, is one of the reportedly 266 workers infected in a COVID-19 outbreak at the plant, as of August 24. (more…)